Treatment Journey Day 3

Welcome to the hell of chemotherapy, Drew!

7:24pm

So yesterday wasn’t too bad. Things did go south in the afternoon. Just a lousy feeling all around and some nausea. I took a pill and it seemed to do the trick. I went to fencing and just hung around watching. It felt good to be up and moving around. Came home and went to bed.

Except I didn’t sleep. All night long there was a burning in my chest, heart burn I guess, though it was like nothing I’ve ever had before. I tried some tums, but it didn’t work. The end result was a mad dash for the toilet at 4am. I hate vomiting.

From there, the day go worse. Nausea took over and I couldn’t eat. I even called John to drive me to my scheduled appointment. I was dizzy and so over fatigued I figured driving was a bad idea. The pump disconnect was pretty quick. The nurse told me to get control of the nausea because I need to eat. So I started taking both anti-nausea medications on their prescribed times rather than “as needed.” Several rounds of that seems to have managed the feeling because I feel okay now. John gave me some sodium bicarbonate for the heartburn and that did wonders. I’ve even managed to eat some apple sauce and drink some tea. It’s amazing what a tiny bit of calories can do for you.

Tonight will be better. No pump attached to me; no needle stuck in the port. If I can stay on top of the other symptoms, I may even sleep a little.

Knowing there isn’t anymore chemo pumping into me is a relief mentally, even if the stuff is still working its way through my body. Hopefully, the detox stage won’t take too long.

About dspage87

My friends joke that I have done everything for a year. Far from it, but I do have a huge list of hobbies (and former jobs). I coach, fence, teach and write. I dabble in photography. I play a variety of instruments and even try to write some original music from time to time. I have even tried my hand at welding, but I won’t show the results. The cardinal rule of writing is to “write what you know.” One would think that all the hobbies and jobs I’ve had has prepared me well for writing. Well, the rule for blogging is a bit more liberal and it suits me better: Write what you think you know.
This entry was posted in Treatment Journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment